The Singing Librarians

I know this isn’t directly related to school – but it IS related to your trusty Primary Teacher Librarian – and to Libraries!

I thought I’d share something I love to do outside school … I sing in Off The Shelf Choir.  Off The Shelf is the official National Year of Reading choir, established at the start of 2012 (our National Year of Reading).  We are a unique bunch because we are ALL Librarians – some (like me) are Teacher Librarians, some work in educational institutions, some in the Libraries of large organisations, and others in Government Libraries (like our local  Yarra Plenty Regional Library).

We all share a love of books and SINGING, and many of our songs have something to do with books or story telling.

This video was taken when we sang at the Auslib Conference at the State Library of Victoria.  We’re singing a gospel song called Down in the River to Pray by Alison Krauss (based on a traditional Appalachian song written in the 19th Century by African-American slaves).

Are we professional singers?  No!
Do we LOVE singing?  Yes!
Do we have FUN?  Yes!

I hope you enjoy us.

Mrs H xo

PS  If you happen to see any of us at your local Library – say hello!  🙂

This entry was posted in 2012 National Year of Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Singing Librarians

  1. Miss Y says:

    Hi Mrs H

    You’re a teacher librarian with many talents! I love the name of of your choir of librarians!
    Will “Off the Shelf ” be singing any Christmas songs?
    I’ll look out for you at Watsonia library…
    Miss Y 😉

    • Thanks Miss Y … the name IS a great one! 🙂
      We don’t have any Christmas songs … yet … because we haven’t been asked to sing any!
      I’ll let you know if we sing at Watsonia Library.

      Mrs H

Leave a comment